Smashed Potatoes

Let me introduce you to your new favourite way with potatoes. SMASHED! CRISPY! BUTTERY!! Buttery CRISPY SMASHED POTATOES!

Best ever potato recipe!

If you are yet to experience the joys of crispy smashed potatoes, and my first experience was only 3 years ago when I was introduced to them by Claire from Sprinkles and Sprouts, a fellow Australian food blogger, these are going to change your potato game forever. These taste like buttery french fries, albeit they are look completely different. “Rustic”, I declare loftily. They’re fluffy on the inside, and ultra crispy on both the underside and on the surface. All those ridges are the best! Forget squashing them neat and flat – the more nubbly the surface, the better the crunch!!!

Tips to make ultra crispy smashed potatoes

Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes are straight forward to make – boil, squish, drizzle, bake – but there are two little tips I’ve discovered along the way: Also, you can totally feel free to add flavourings like garlic and dried herbs, but they do burn a bit so you’ll get little black bits on the surface. In all honesty, these are so tasty as they are, they don’t need anything more! (In my personal, potato-opinion)

How to serve Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes

I would be totally happy just munching on these as a snack. And if I had a larger oven, or multiple ovens, I would make loads of these and serve them as a snack at gatherings. Because if you make these with small potatoes as I have done, they are perfect finger food snacking size. But I typically serve these on the side of mains. It will go with pretty much any Western dish, from pork chops to fish, chicken to steak. Try it on the side of this Steak with Creamy Peppercorn Sauce, these Lemon Garlic Marinated Pork Chops, these Crispy Garlic Chicken Thighs or this Sun Dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken Breast. However you plan to serve these Crispy Smashed Potatoes, it has your name written all over it. Do it, do it, do it! – Nagi x

More potato recipes

Truly Crunchy Roast Potatoes Potatoes au Gratin (Dauphinoise) Crispy Parmesan Crusted Potatoes (side dish or to nibble) Potato Salad Greek Lemon Potatoes Potato Rosti Twice-baked Stuffed Jacket Potatoes See all Potato Recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Sometimes it helps to have a visual, so watch me make these Crispy Smashed Potatoes!!

LIFE OF DOZER

When I travel, Dozer stays with a golden retriever boarder. Rumbling with his friends, a whirlwind of fur chasing each other around the backyard, somersaulting across the lounge room as they tumble. I’m told he’s internally fretting about me. 😂

Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 51Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 78Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 44Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 83Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 49Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 5Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 26Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 93Ultra Crispy Smashed Potatoes - 44