I’m pretty sure that having one of these every evening for the past 4 evenings isn’t that healthy. However, it is pretty flippin fantastic :-) I usually find myself making spooky cupcakes, Frankenstein mint mousses, skeleton veg crudite plates and oreo spiders for the kids at this time of year. Rather than follow on with tradition, I decided this year to make something for us adults. We deserve to have delicious Halloween treats too (in addition to the leftover sweets, cakes and oreo spiders)! I’ve always been a fan of chocolate fondant and have been making Gordon Ramsay’s version for years. I’ve made:

The basic one – lots of times.  Here’s Gordan’s original recipe, that I adapted for today’s recipe Mini (eggcup sized) versions of the basic one (went down great at a dinner party) A chocolate orange version (sooooo good) and now this slightly boozy chocolate cherry version.

It takes a little preparation, but it’s a great recipe that you can prepare in advance, freeze and then cook straight from frozen. The advantage of this is that you can make several individual servings and then just pop one in the oven when you feel like it. The disadvantage of this is that you can then just pop one in the oven whenever you….yeah you get the picture. I happened to ‘just feel like one’ every evening until they were all gone, and Chris played his part in eating the rest. Lettuce, water and spin class only for the rest of the week! You too dear husband! I served these puds with cherry sorbet and chocolate spider webs. Don’t let my childish attempt at spider web making fool you into thinking I just piped one quickly and didn’t give it a second thought. This web was the best one of about 25. I had chocolate spider webs on baking mats and parchment paper all over the house! They’re harder than you might think, so make sure you buy some extra chocolate. The fact that I used dark chocolate – which is runnier when melted than milk chocolate – didn’t help matters. Even using my thinnest piping nozzle, the chocolate just pours out. My tip to you? Either use milk chocolate instead, or, let the melted chocolate cool a little first so that it thickens slightly before trying to pipe it. Have a look at my other Halloween Recipes:

The Halloween chocolate cherry fondant Recipe:

< p style=“text-align: center;"> Nutritional info obtained from caloriecount.about.com per serving (makes 8).  Includes chocolate web, but not the cherry sorbet.

Halloween chocolate cherry fondant - 86Halloween chocolate cherry fondant - 62Halloween chocolate cherry fondant - 95